Skip to content
Croydon Counts — Croydon, in numbers.Local help →

Croydon, in numbers

People and living standards

Croydon council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Croydon council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 315,868 in 1991 to 410,085 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Croydon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 329,414 people in 1996; 410,085 people in 2025. 24.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991315,868
1992317,156
1993319,216
1994322,775
1995326,822
1996329,414
1997330,923
1998333,046
1999332,066
2000334,241
2001335,112
2002335,415
2003335,919
2004337,134
2005339,052
2006340,449
2007344,029
2008349,308
2009352,763
2010357,951
2011364,815
2012369,617
2013374,270
2014378,244
2015381,277
2016384,382
2017385,567
2018386,999
2019390,643
2020392,101
2021390,691
2022393,903
2023402,011
2024408,636
2025410,085
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Croydon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,232 people in 1996; 80,795 people in 2025. 13.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,368
199265,868
199367,457
199469,079
199570,307
199671,232
199771,901
199872,604
199972,804
200072,816
200172,455
200272,398
200372,394
200472,664
200572,815
200672,838
200773,642
200874,704
200975,526
201077,224
201179,308
201280,539
201381,139
201481,720
201582,179
201682,853
201782,860
201882,521
201982,409
202081,788
202180,108
202280,008
202380,942
202481,298
202580,795
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Croydon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 215,550 people in 1996; 270,689 people in 2025. 25.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991208,404
1992208,333
1993208,879
1994210,958
1995213,711
1996215,550
1997216,434
1998217,999
1999216,741
2000218,965
2001219,907
2002220,187
2003220,821
2004221,935
2005223,677
2006225,336
2007227,967
2008231,623
2009233,756
2010236,687
2011240,851
2012242,934
2013245,833
2014248,217
2015250,158
2016251,893
2017252,112
2018253,211
2019256,045
2020257,552
2021257,149
2022259,327
2023265,511
2024270,400
2025270,689
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Croydon council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 42,632 people in 1996; 58,601 people in 2025. 37.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,096
199242,955
199342,880
199442,738
199542,804
199642,632
199742,588
199842,443
199942,521
200042,460
200142,750
200242,830
200342,704
200442,535
200542,560
200642,275
200742,420
200842,981
200943,481
201044,040
201144,656
201246,144
201347,298
201448,307
201548,940
201649,636
201750,595
201851,267
201952,189
202052,761
202153,434
202254,568
202355,558
202456,938
202558,601
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 390,724 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Croydon · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh68,48717.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African88,44122.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups29,7457.6%
White188,98548.4%
Other ethnic group15,0663.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 363,378 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Croydon · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White200,19555.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups23,8956.6%
Asian/Asian British59,62716.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British73,25620.2%
Other ethnic group6,4051.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 330,587 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Croydon · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White231,94570.2%
Mixed12,2963.7%
Asian/Asian British37,38011.3%
Black/Black British44,07613.3%
Chinese/Other4,8901.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Croydon council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,892 per person in 1997; £27,407 per person in 2024. 177.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,892
199810,245
199911,020
200011,863
200112,505
200212,882
200313,718
200414,530
200515,235
200615,767
200716,764
200817,062
200916,893
201017,216
201117,342
201218,277
201318,830
201419,271
201520,642
201621,014
201721,378
201822,652
201923,091
202022,917
202123,728
202224,893
202325,829
202427,407
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Croydon council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.8% in 1997; 5.6% in 2024. 12.4 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Croydon council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.8
1998-5.4
1999-2.6
2000-0.3
20011.1
20021.8
20035.2
20047.1
20058.4
20067.7
20079.2
20088.3
20095.5
20106.6
20116.4
20128.2
20137.5
20146.6
20158.5
20169.1
20178.5
201811
20199.6
20209.2
20218.6
20228.4
20235.6
20245.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61%

21 March 2021 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.2%

21 March 2021 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.1%

21 March 2021 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£390,000

July 2026 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,582

August 2026 · Croydon council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.